End of the Year Book Tag

To go along with all my other awesome planned wrap up posts, I found this tag over at FlickThrough and just couldn’t resist doing it.

On which book did you have expectations that were dashed?

25026403‘Dashed’ is such a nice way of putting it compared to hopes and dreams ripped out and squished into a tiny ball and thrown into space. Because, really, after Starflight, I thought I’d at least enjoy this book. Instead it was, hands down, my least favorite book I finished this year. (And this is Amy, finally learning how to just DNF the book.)

What book surprised you?

26225506While there were a lot of books that were good surprises this year, I think I’ll have to go with this one because my two reasons for buying it were less than well thought-out. The first was because of that cover. The second was for the aromantic representation in one character. Instead of getting something disappointing, I got one of my favorite books of the year.

Choose a book that best represents your 2017.

97281442017 was a year where I tried to finish series. So, what better book to say represents the year than the final book from one of my favorite series?

What is the author revelation of your 2017?

295058453194958636225312

I’ve had a lot of new-to-me authors this year whose books I adore, but I decided to go with Jordan Hawke – whose Hexworld series I’ve featured here because I adore it. They are awesome historical gay romances with witches and shifters. This has encouraged me to give her Whyborne & Griffin series a go sometime.

What genre have you read the most in 2017? And which is the least?

Most: Fantasy (surprising absolutely no one.)

Least: Steampunk 😥 (I’ve been wanting to read more, but it seems like I’ve not been finding much. Shameless plug: leave me awesome steampunk recs and I’ll adore you!)

Choose one of the best and one of the worst books you’ve read in 2017.

One of the Best:

34603463

One of the Worst:

25408910

What is the TV series that you have followed the most in 2017?

Image result for shadowhunters

Even though, as of right now I’ve only seen season one, I was following the show long before I actually sat down to watch it. Seriously, fan fiction, GIF’s, all that kind of stuff and I had very well-developed opinions before I watched the first episode. (Now I’m just hoping to avoid any spoilers for season three so I go into it a little more blind than season one or two. Which means I’m going to have to avoid following it at all.)

What is the best movie you saw in 2017?

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/7/78/Power_Rangers_%282017_Official_Theatrical_Poster%29.png

I can’t help that I feel nostalgic for this whole franchise, but the movie itself was surprisingly fun. Also, I’ve not done the best on other non-rewatch movies this year and several that I had pretty high hopes for turned out to be a little disappointing. (Guardians of the Galaxy vol. 2, I’m looking at you.)

What was the song / album / singer that you loved most in 2017?

There are many songs I’ve been obsessed with this year, but I think the one that has stayed the steadiest for me is Something Wild by Lindsey Stirling feat. Andrew McMahon.

Which literary intentions do you have for 2018?

Absolutely none because whenever I try to make plans they always fall through anyway. So, this next year, I’m going into with no plans at all. This way I might do nothing, but at least it won’t be a disappointment. (On a side note, I do want to get at least one of the stories rattling around in my head down for a first draft because I fail at making time to write.)

I tag anyone who wants to do a super fun end of year tag. Because this actually was quite fun.

I'd Love To Hear From You